What is the Currency of Azerbaijan?

The currency of Azerbaijan is the Azerbaijani manat, also known as AZN. Azerbaijan, a former Soviet republic, formerly used the Soviet ruble. Since 1992, shortly after regaining independence, Azerbaijan has used the manat. Because the country is relatively rich in petroleum, the value of the manat largely tracks the price of oil over time. 


The currency of Azerbaijan is the manat

How did the manat get its name? 

Manat is derived from "Moneta," who was a Roman goddess who protected treasure. It is from this name that we get the words "money" and "mint" in the English language. 

What are Azerbaijani coins called? 

The coins of Azerbaijan are called qəpik. One manat is equal to One hundred qəpik.

The coins of azerbaijan are known as qəpik
Want more fascinating foreign currencies like the Azerbaijani manat? Coin and Currency Club is the monthly coin subscription box for you!